Personnel

To successfully address the issues in agricultural sustainability requires a concerted effort from multiple disciplines to embrace the three principles defining sustainability, i.e., economics, environment, and social. Therefore, the CARS’s personnel consists of faculty members with expertise in many specialties who work together as a team to research solutions to a wide range of complex problems in the subject area by developing, improving, and implementing sustainable agricultural production practices. Not only is the team approach necessary, but it provides a unique and vital platform for each team member to make indispensable contributions to the overarching mission of CARS in research, teaching, and extension towards establishing sustainable agriculture in Arkansas.

 

Directors

Jun Zhu


Jun Zhu, Ph.D.
Director of Waste Management

Dept. of Biological and Agricultural Engineering 
Phone: 479-575-2883
junzhu@uark.edu


Jennie Popp


Jennie Popp, Ph.D.
Director of Economics

Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
Phone: 479-575-2279
jhpopp@uark.edu


Curt Rom

Curt Rom, Ph.D.  Interim Dean of Honors College

Dept. of Horticulture
Phone: 479-575-7434
crom@uark.edu





Ron Rainey


Ron Rainey, Ph.D.
Director of Risk Management

Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
Phone: 501-671-2215
rrainey@uaex.edu

Affiliated Faculty and Staff

Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness

L. Lanier Nalley


L. Lanier Nalley

Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
Phone: 479-575-6818 llnalley@uark.edu

Michael Popp


Michael Popp

Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
Phone: 479-575-6838
mpopp@uark.edu

Daniel Rainey


Daniel Rainey

Dept. of Agricultural
Economics and
Agribusiness
Phone: 479-575-5584
rainey@uark.edu

 

 
Kent Kovacs


Kent Kovacs

Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
Phone: 479-575-2323 kkovacs@uark.edu

Qiuqiong Huang


Qiuqiong Huang

Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
Phone: 479-575-2073
qqhuang@uark.edu

 

 

Department of Animal Science

Charles Maxwell


Charles Maxwell

Dept. of Animal Science
Phone: 479-575-2111
cmaxwell@uark.edu

Dirk Philipp


Dirk Philipp

Dept. of Animal Science
Phone: 479-575-7914
dphilipp@uark.edu

 

Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Thomas Costello


Thomas Costello

Dept. of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Phone: 479-575-2847
tac@uark.edu

Brian Haggard


Brian Haggard

Dept. of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Phone: 479-575-2879
haggard@uark.edu

Benjamin Runkle


Benjamin Runkle

Dept. of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Phone: 479-575-2878
brrunkle@uark.edu

 

Department of Biological Sciences

Kusum Naithani


Kusum Naithani

Dept. of Biological Sciences
Phone: 479-575-3653
kusum@uark.edu

 

Department of Agricultural Education, Communications and Technology

Don Johnson


Don Johnson

Dept. of Agricultural Education, Communications and Technology
Phone: 479-575-2039
dmjohnso@uark.edu

kate shoulders


Kate Shoulders

Dept. of Agricultural Education, Communications and Technology
Phone: 479-575-3799
cshoulde@uark.edu
 

Office for Sustainability

Marty Matlock


Marty Matlock

Executive Director - Office
for Sustainability
Dept. of Biological and
Agricultural Engineering
Phone: 479-575-2849
mmatlock@uark.edu

 

Community and Economic Development

Stacy McCollough


Stacey McCullough

Community and Economic Development
Assistant Director - Public Policy Center
Phone: 501-671-2078
smccullough@uaex.edu

Wayne Miller


Wayne Miller

Community and Economic Development
Phone: 501-671-2085
wmiller@uaex.edu
 

Department of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences

Trenton Roberts


Trenton Roberts

Dept. of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
Phone: 479-575-6752
tlrobert@uark.edu
Kristofor Brye


Kristofor Brye

Dept. of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
Phone: 479-575-5742
kbrye@uark.edu


Mike Daniels


Mike Daniels

Dept. of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
Phone: 501-671-2284
mdaniels@uaex.edu
 
Mary Savin


Mary Savin

Dept. of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
Phone: 479-575-5740
msavin@uark.edu

Andrew Sharpley

                                            Andrew Sharpley  

Dept. of Crop, Soil and
Environmental Sciences
Phone: 479-5755721
sharpley@uark.edu

 Bill Rob


Bill Robertson

Dept. of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
Phone: 870-523-7450
brobertson@uaex.edu

 

 

Department of Entomology

Donn Johnson


Donn Johnson

Dept. of Entomology  
Phone: 479-575-2501
dtjohnso@uark.edu

 

Department of Food Science

Ruben Morawicki


Ruben Morawicki

Dept. of Food Science       
Phone: 479-575-4923
rmorawic@uark.edu

Terry Siebenmorgan


Terry Siebenmorgan

Dept. of Food Science      
Phone: 479-575-2841
tsiebenm@uark.edu

Kristen Gibson


Kristen Gibson

Dept. of Food Science       
Phone: 479-575-6844
keg005@uark.edu

 

Department of Horticulture

 

School of Human Environmental Sciences

Eunjoo Cho


Eunjoo Cho

School of Human Environmental Sciences  
Phone: 479-575-4599
ejcho@uark.edu

 

National Agricultural Law Center

Harrison Pittman


Harrison Pittman

Director - National Agricultural Law Center
Phone: 479-575-7640
hmpittm@uark.edu

Rust Rumley


Rusty Rumley

Agricultural Law Center
Phone: 479-575-2636
rrumley@uark.edu

 

Rural Sociology

Zola Moon


Zola Moon

Rural Sociology                  Phone: 479-575-5123
zmoon@uark.edu

 

Plant Pathology

 

 

Department of Poultry Science

Susan Watkins


Susan Watkins

Dept. of Poultry Science  
Phone: 479-575-7902
swatkin@uark.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Extension

Karl Vandevender


Karl Vandevender

Extension Engineer   
Phone: 501-671-244
kvandevender@uaex.edu